So what is this crazy woman doing?

This is my first (real) of hopefully many blog posts. I want to say right off the bat, thanks for stopping by and taking a look. Feel free to leave comments and such. I do want to set a few guidelines.  This site is MY blog. It is about the journey I am on, and my life and struggles with Mental Illness and other health issues that have made me disabled. Please respect that. Negative comments and bashing will NOT be tolerated. I do welcome open discussion and debates, though.

I ask that you refrain from mentioning very specific drugs, dosages  and or specific therapies, unless you are sharing your own experience. I.e. saying “I have had luck with a mood stabilizer taking it twice a day.” but not “I take Prozac, what do you take?” If it is a common drug, like an OTC, that is fine, like mentioning aspirin,  Tylenol or Motrin/ibuprofen, Robitussin for a cold. But please, unless you are a licensed physician, do not give medical advice for treatments.

That being said, I started off at 18 working in EMS. I continued on into Law Enforcement, and after some severe injuries ended up teaching at a large well-known medical school. I specifically taught patient care and chronic illness. But I will not recommend specific treatment advice as I am not treating you. I will be willing to answer general questions you may have about treatments and drug therapies, but really the information is quite readily available on these intertubes! I highly recommend www.medscape.com

I have some (possibly lofty) visions for my blog. I want to help stop the stigma of mental illness, at a minimum.  But I would really love to be able to help just one person on their own journey by sharing my life story. All I’ve ever wanted to do was to help other people. My illness has really side tracked my plans (you know the saying, you want to make God laugh, tell  him your plans).

So, who am I really? I am a 30 something Okie transplant in Michigan. I have not had the easiest or best life, nor have I had the worst life. Although some of the trials I’ve endured may make you cry, or feel for me, DO NOT PITY ME! That’s not what I’m out here for! I only share in the hopes that someone else who may have been or is going through something similar, may find strength.

I have survived cancer twice (6 years free). I have an auto immune disorder, nerve conduction pathway disorder, asthma, chronic migraines, endometriosis and poly cystic ovarian syndrome (just about non existent since my hysterectomy) , IBS, SVT, both high and low blood pressure, and the dreaded high cholesterol.  A history of anxiety, Bipolar (mostly mania). ADHD, borderline personality disorder, closed head injury, and please don’t get me started on all the normal injuries I’ve had!

I am also a survivor of domestic violence (both when I was 18 and again in my late 20’s, and I’m ashamed to admit it, after being a domestic violence investigator for a police department). I also have one failed suicide attempt. No one is still quite able to figure out how I’m still alive, and with almost no lasting issues.

So I invite you to join me on my road to recovery. And to also look back at just how far I’ve come! So welcome to my crazy little corner of the world, and please keep your hands and feet inside the ride while we are in motion!

HANG ON TIGHT! LET’S GET THIS SHOW ON THE ROAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2 thoughts on “So what is this crazy woman doing?

  1. Meagan says:

    I’m intrigued. I look forward to reading more of your posts. 🙂

I'm pretty tough...lay it on me!

